Champagne Ruinart, as the first established Champagne house in 1729, is quite unique. The House was founded by Nicolas Ruinart whose uncle, a Benedictine monk, Dom Thierry Ruinart had an intuition. He felt that the new "wine with bubbles", developed in his native Champagne was promised a bright future. This was one year after a Royal Decree in 1728 whereby Louis XV gave his consent for sparkling wines to be shipped. In the mid-18th century, Ruinart acquired chalk quarries just outside of Reims. It is now the very well-known Crayères classified as a historical monument by the UNESCO in 1931. Frédéric Panaïotis is the cellar master since 2007 and it is under the shade of the LVMH group that Ruinart has developed its very own style and personality famous for its Blanc de Blancs, with its distinctive and quite beautiful bottle shape.