Food labels can be confusing, especially when special diets and food allergies come into play. All food products containing 2 or ➕ingredients are required by Federal regulations to bear an statement listing all ingredients by common or usual name in descending order of predominance. -
⚠️FDA Allergen Label Law
This law requires that the label of a food that contains an ingredient that is or contains protein from a "major food allergen " declare its presence in the manner described by the law. There are 8️⃣foods or groups as the major allergens. They are 🐄🥛 , 🍳, 🐟 (bass, flounder, cod), Crustacean shellfish (🦀, 🦞,🦐), tree nuts (almonds, walnuts, pecans), 🥜, wheat, and soybeans.
You will see the allergen clearly labeled in the ingredients or in the allergen statement at the end. Do not rely on the allergen statement alone, always read the label thoroughly👀.
⚠️May Contains Statement
Some manufacturers voluntarily include a “may contain” statement on their labels when there is a chance that a food allergen could be present. A manufacturer might use the same equipment to make different products. Even after cleaning this equipment, a small amount of an allergen that was used to make one product may become part of another product. Generally, a product that says May Contain Dairy is safe to consume if you just have a baby with an intolerance. If your baby is truly allergic to cow’s milk protein, you probably want to avoid cross-contaminated products.
⚠️Dairy‐Free Products or Vegan
A product labeled dairy‐free or vegan will always be safe to consume when you are avoiding cow’s milk protein.
⚠️Lactose as ingredient
If the lactose is derived from a cow, then it could affect your CMPA little one. It’s impossible to separate all the protein from the lactose. -
If you see the term natural flavors in the ingredients list, then it must disclose if they contain dairy. It will either appear as Natural Flavors (milk) in the ingredients list or in the allergen statement at the end.
⚠️Soy Oil and Soy Lecithin
Highly refined soy or soybean oil will not be labeled as a major allergen on an ingredient statement. Soy lecithin has a small amount of soyprotein.