A fun fact - carmine is a natural red dye derived from the cochineal insect. Carmine is also why some vegans freaked out about the Starbucks Strawberry Frappuccino back in 2012.
Here is a short list of items that (most likely) contain cochineal-derived colorant:
- Frozen meat and fish (e.g., artificial crab meat)
- Soft drinks, fruit drinks, energy drinks, and powdered drink mixes.
- Yogurts, ice cream and dairy-based drinks.
- Candy, syrups, popsicles, fillings and chewing gum.